The Essence of Ministry 


This post was originally scheduled to go out in January but well, it was overtaken by events.

In January, I resumed Sunday teaching after a six month hiatus. My team was overjoyed.

I enjoyed myself. I had missed my class and most importantly I had missed the learning moments from those class interactions.

True to form, as I sat in service one of the sundays, a very common verse of scripture hit me in an entirely new way.

Read with me: ‘So Christ himself gave the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, the prophets and teachers to equip his people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up until we all reach the unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God, and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ ‘- Ephesians 4:11-13

I read this passage and my eyes popped.

Listen, Child of God, your ministry is not about your title, your eloquent speaking, your depth of understanding and the level of your anointing.

Your ministry gift has one essence, one goal- and it is not to prove that you are anointed or designed to create an heirachy for the church.

You gift is given to you so that in deploying it, you can prepare others to serve, thereby promoting the oneness of the church and all round maturity.

If you are in ministry and you are still the only one with the answers to all the spiritual questions, Sir, What are you doing?

If you are in ministry and you’re spending more time defending the church heirachy than you are teaching and helping disciples grow, Ma, what are you up to?

If you’re in ministry and your ‘anointing’ tears people down more than it builds them up, hmm, I can’t help you.

The essence of ministry is to build people up to maturity in the faith- everything else is secondary.

Check your ministry. Is it confirming to the essence of ministry or has the focus shifted to the mere running of the organisation we now call the church?

May we not miss the essence of ministry in the midst of all the activity.

I am re-examining my ministry priorities as we commence a new year.

Who’s With Me?

Tobiloba

One Reply to “”

  1. You actually make it seem really easy together with your presentation however I find this matter to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It kind of feels too complex and very broad for me. I am having a look forward for your subsequent publish, I will attempt to get the dangle of it!

Leave a comment