Words In Pictures


There’s a passage of Scripture that has left me baffled for a long time because it didn’t make gramatical sense to me.

It baffled me because I knew there had to be a meaning if it was left in the bible that way.

Read with me: ‘I will stand at my watch and station myself on the ramparts; I will look to see what He will say to me and what answer I am to give to this compaint’- Habakuk 2:1

Do you see my grammatical confusion yet? It on the line that says ‘look to see what He will say…’

From my basic understanding of scripture, you look at what is shown, you listen to what is said.

So why the seeming confusion?

God cleared it up for me with a simple but personally relevant question.

Why do you (me) prefer books to movies?

The more I thought about it, I realized it ia because words create pictures in my mind and the details provided in the books always create a richer motion picture in my mind than the movies ever do.

That’s the reason I have always asserted that the movies made from books never do the books justice.

Same rule applies here. When words are spoken, the create pictures in our minds.

Whose words are creating the pictures playing in your mind today, God’s words or the words of the world- the world news perhaps?

Who is saying what you are seeing today?

I choose to see what God is saying.

Who’s With me?
Tobiloba

One Reply to “Words In Pictures”

Leave a Reply

