tobilobaajayi

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Under Pressure


The congregation I worship with has a recent culture of reading the bible together aloud on Sundays.About a month ago we read a scripture aloud and a verse hit me so much I wrote it down… and promptly forgot about it.

A few days ago I noticed the verse where I had written it and wondered why I wrote down. It came back to mind again this morning, relentlessly… The way the Holy Spirit can be and I went to look it up.

Read with me:Fierce troubles came down on the people of those churches, pushing them to the very limit. The trial exposed their true colors: They were incredibly happy, though desperately poor. The pressure triggered something totally unexpected: an outpouring of pure and generous gifts.-2 Corinthians 8:2 (MSG)

Reading this passage hit me squarely. Why? Yesterday,we were having a discussion about character at home and my sister who is incredibly honest, told me about how I needed to welcome negative feedback some more.

If you know me, you know I ruminated over that conversation all night.

And then this.

Listen, Child of God, Your true colours and exposed under trials. The more severe the trial, the  more the content of your character is exposed.

To get the juice out of a fruit, you put it under pressure. What comes out is the real content of that fruit.

How do you react under pressure? Are you able to keep your joy? What about when you’re desperately broke? Can you give generously in poverty?

Who you are during trials is who you really are, Your true colours are revealed when you’re under pressure.

Be honest with yourself. How much of Christ do you reveal under pressure?

If you’re like me,you’ve answered , ‘not a lot’,

Since you only give out under pressure what is ingrained in you, It means that you have to put in you more of Jesus till it becomes ingrained in you and comes out of you under pressure,

I need to spend more time with Jesus,I need to spend more time with my bible.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Under Pressure

  1. I’m with you!

Leave a Reply

