Comfort With A Purpose


I have been off blogosphere for a while. September has been a very busy month. My second book which started from this blog launched on my birthday. Talk about a double celebration,

Anyway,in the last few weeks I have had the privilege of having conversations with a new found mentee of sorts. One of the highlights of our sessions is complete honesty, so when I share personal anecdotes in our gisting sessions, they are usually not the glamorous parts of my walk with God, they are usually the really ugly and messy bits.

In one of our conversations, I shared some really painful parts of my past and the response was ‘wow you’re strong’. I answered ‘No, not really,I have just been so comforted by God that the experience is now something I can use to bless others.

We laughed about it and I forgot about it until this night.

I was flipping through my bible and my eyes rested on this particular scripture. Read with me:

‘All praise to the God and Father of our Master, Jesus the Messiah! Father of all mercy! God of all healing counsel! He comes alongside us when we go through hard times, and before you know it, he brings us alongside someone else who is going through hard times so that we can be there for that person just as God was there for us’.-2 Corinthians 1:3-4 (MSG)

,if you need comfort, then there has to have been pain in one way, form or fashion. What makes the pain of a believer unique though is that you know that comfort will come from God. and when His comfort comes it will not be just for you;it will flow out of you in empathy for others who are going through the same pain that you have received comfort for.

Listen,when God comforts you,it is not about you. Don’t get so comfortable in your comforted state that you become blind to those who are suffering the same pain you came out from. God will bring them your way so that you can be an extension of his love to him by comforting them the way you have been comforted.

A believers pain is never wasted. It will be used by God as a tool of comfort for others but we have to  receive the comfort and keep our eyes open so that we can pass it on to others.

Let your God given comfort fulfill it’s purpose.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

2 Replies to “Comfort With A Purpose”

  1. God Bless you Ma for this words.. The mantle and gift that God has given to you will not be a waste in Jesus’ name.

    Please I want to seek your permission to post some of your articles on the christian based face book pages I manage… Though I posted one today, that was because someone on my friend’s list shared it.. and since it was good stuff I shared. Reading the content brought me here, I then saw the copyright notice..Please don’t be angry.

    Thanks. Temilola.

    1. Temilola, you can post my blogposts on your facebook group as long as you direct your readers to the original content by referencing the blog. For the one you have already posted,just go back and edit it to reference the blog and all is well.

      Thanks for reading and for being so forthright.

      I hope you come back soon,

Leave a Reply

