Who Are You Following?


In these days of social media, a lot of us desire a ‘following’. More importantly a lot of us are quick to join to follow those who have ‘a following’.

Have you ever taken a look at the list of those you’re following on all your social media platforms and asked yourself why you are following each and every one of these people?

Anyway, I was seating in church on Sunday quietly listening to an unrelated bible reading when the following scripture started to run amok in my mind.

‘Follow me and I will make you fishers of men’-Matthew 4:19

Can you see when my mind started hitting the repeat button yet?

Let me show you: ‘Follow me, and I will make you….

Who you follow makes you!

The persons you follow will one way or another make you into a version or another of themselves. You will begin to buy into their ideologies and their thought patterns, you will begin to speak and think like them.

It will be unconscious, but it will happen.

I don’t know about you, but I can point to times in my life when it’s happened. I have this friend, we’ve been friends for decades.

In recent times, I introduced her to a new friend who needed services she could provide and they worked together without me being there.

My new friend came back with this report. ‘You guys sound alike,gesticulate alike and even think alike. Working with her was like working with you. I thought you said you guys were just friends.

I smiled and said, yes,we’re just friends. We’ve just been around each other for a long time.

Don’t get me wrong, we’re two very separate individuals with separate lives and separate preferences, But we’ve rubbed off each other so much,we can’t even say who taught who what anymore.

I saw that happen with my parents too.

If you look over your life,I’m sure you can find a similar example.

Who are you following today? What are they making you into?

Don’t forget ‘He who walks with the wise is wise,but the companion of fools is easily destroyed-Proverbs 13:20

I choose to follow Christ today and let Him make me into a replica of Himself, no matter who else comes across and alongside me on the journey.

Who’s with me?

TobilobaPr

2 Replies to “Who Are You Following?”

Leave a Reply

