Waiting For ‘Issac’


The last few weeks have been trying my patience to say the least. I have had reason to question a lot of the things I believe and why I believe them.

Don’t worry, I’m still born again. My faith just went through a testing and I’ve come our on the other side standing.

In the last few months, I’ve been n the company of the ‘waiting’. Those of us waiting for God to come through on an express promise that he had given us.

Do I have any comrades in the waiting room?

In the waiting room,I have ranted and raved, questioned and cried and I have talked off the ear of my few trusted confidants and friends. My prayers have become groaning and snatches of conversations full of questions for God.

To be honest,God has been gracious to me.He’s answered every question but I’m still waiting. The clouds are still dark and there’s no silver lining in sight.

Today I went again to ask God another set of questions in the light of some of my recent doubts and thought patterns and I came away with a warning that I have turned into a prayer.

I have a strong feeling someone reading might need this.

‘Don’t birth Ishmael(s) while you’re waiting for your Issac.’

In case, you’re not familiar with the Ishmael/Issac story in scripture,let me summarize the part that relates to this post.

God promised Abraham a son when he was 75 years old. 17/18 years down the line, the promise had not come forth. His wife, Sarah decided that thy could ‘help’ God fulfill His promise by having a child through her servant Hagar. She convinced Abrahan and here came Ishmael. The result of their ‘helping God’. 13 years after Ishmael was born,25 years after God gave the promise, Issac (the promised son) was born.

Then trouble began. Trouble that would have been averted if they had just waited for Issac.

Child of God,I know waiting for your Issac(promise) to come forth is hard and birthing an Ishmael(compromise /outright disobedience) might look like the only valid option right now, but trust the one who has promised. He is faithful and will do what He has said.

Your Issac will come forth no matter how long it takes.

I choose to wait for my ‘Issac’. I refuse to birth Ishmael(s) in the process.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba.

2 Replies to “Waiting For ‘Issac’”

  1. Hello Tobiloba, i just went through your wordpress now, and i must say there are inspiring posts to show, apart from the fact that your name got me attracted, the “waiting for isaac post is the one i enjoyed more it was inspiring! Just keep doing what you do you can trust me to be a follower of this Blog. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

