Enough of The Mourning!


I had a conversation yesterday that plunged me seriously down memory lane. The memories were bitter sweet and they left me wondering what could have been.

I found myself wishing I could go back and do certain things differently. I started going down the could have, would have and should have route.

The worst part of it was the if I had…..then maybe I wouldn’t be here now.

The maybe’s were so many.

Any witnesses yet?

Somehow I slept off still doing the maybe dance. Of course I slept fitfully. Finally this morning, I got some decent sleep.

When I woke up from my ‘decent sleep’ a story was ringing in my head and I just knew that not only was it a word for me, it was a word I had to share.

Read with me: The Lord said to Samuel, “How long will you mourn for Saul, since I have rejected him as king over Israel? Fill your horn with oil and be on your way; I am sending you to Jesse of Bethlehem. I have chosen one of his sons to be king.”- I Samuel 16:1 (NIV)

Did that verse hit you squarely in the chest the way it hit me?

How long will you continue to mourn for something that God has moved on from?

You made a mistake? Have you asked for forgiveness and repented? Stop mourning.

You lost a job out of carelessness? Learn from the experience and stop mourning.

Someone left you? God was not out of the picture when it happened. Give it over to God and stop mourning.

Don’t remain in a place where God does not exist anyone.

Everything you lost, God can replace. The principle of substitution abounds in scripture. Nothing is irreplaceable in God’s agenda.

No one is indispensable in God’s books.

Forgive what God has forgiven, forget what He has forgotten.

Open your eyes so that you can see the next best thing coming your way.

If you mourn for too long, you just might be too blind to see what good thing God is bringing your way

Am I saying that you should not grieve and mourn over losses in your life? Of course not!

I’m only saying don’t mourn so long that you are blinded by it to the detriment of all the other good things God wants to bring into your life- including a substitute where needed!

I’m choosing to stop mourning where God has moved on.

Enough of the mourning.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

4 Replies to “Enough of The Mourning!”

Leave a Reply

