Tired of Good Works


Have you ever been in a situation where your patience is making you feel stupid? Have you ever had patience to the point where people refer to your patience with derision. Is doing the right think looking that the foolish option in your life right now?

If you answered yes to any of the questions above, welcome to the club.

If you are like me, you know that this club is not fun to be in. You’ve been ridiculed, called names or worse ostracized because you’ve decided to go against the fabric of culture and societal expectations.

Society tells us that you should only do a certain amount of good for a certain amount of time to a certain amount of people if nothing comes out of it as profit for us.. I mean it makes logical sense. Why should I keep doing good to someone if they never appreciate it or reciprocate?

I have been in that same dilemma since this year started and in so many ways,I knew the right thing to do, However doing good was making me resentful.

Anybody feel me?

Read with me: And let us not get tired of doing what is right, for after a while we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t get discouraged and give up.-Galatians 6:9 (TLB)

See? God knows doing the right can be tiring at times.

Don’t stop doing it. Your rewarder is not the person you do the good to, your rewarder is God. Every good deed is a seed. Seeds that stay in the ground long enough and weather the storms always sprout seeds and always bring forth a harvest.

Your good deeds will reap a harvest when you do not get discouraged and give up.

Think about it, no farmer would ever reap a harvest of any crop if he got tired of waiting and pulled out the seeds from the ground before they could sprout.

The same rule applies to your good works. They will not read the designated harvest if you give up in the middle of the process because you got discouraged.

This leaves me wondering how many harvests I have truncated because I got tired of waiting and got discouraged and gave up.

Today, the light of the scripture just dawned on on my heart again.

I resolve to keep doing good and not give up no matter how discouraged I get.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

2 Replies to “Tired of Good Works”

Leave a Reply

