Control Or Faith?


In the last day or so, I realized anew that I still have serious control issues. I thought the issue was done and dusted, but I now realize that I still have some work to do in that area. Just in case I have comrades who are in the same boat. I’ll share what I learnt today.

I don’t know about you but I like to have everything planned out. I like to have all the answers. If I can figure it out or I can see it, then I believe it’s possible and then I relax.

I am that person that likes to have plan A- Z for anything I undertake. When it comes to risks, I take only those I can calculate. If the things I can’t control are too many I won’t do it.

Does this ring a bell with anyone yet?

Well, in my walk with God, I have had to take risks that I could not calculate but as I realized today, I grumbled through those experiences,gritted my teeth and was always glad when those experiences over and I prayed not to have to repeat them.

What’s more, after each of those experiences,I tried to to put safeguards in place to protect my self from experiencing those things again.

Did you just whisper ‘control freak’? I know. I know.

Now, Read with me: Read with me: Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen-Hebrews 11:1

I’m sure some of you can see what God said to me already, just by looking at that verse but for those who need a little help like me, let me spell it out.

Faith is the ONLY evidence God will give you. You can’t see it to believe it with God. With God, the reverse is the case, you believe and then you see it.

With God you cannot control all the outcomes. You can’t calculate all the risks. You cannot predict the future. Only God holds that trump card and He usually doesn’t show it to you.

He simply asks you to take His word for it.

For control freaks, that’s hard to do. If you say you’re a Christian,that’s what you have to do.

That’s what faith is.

Faith is taking God’s word for it without any physical proof that it is true.

The minute you have proof,it stops being faith.

The minute you can control the outcome, you don’t need faith.

Since you need faith to walk with God and ultimately make heaven, God will never let you be able to control all the outcomes.

Control freak or faith in God. You have to choose. You cannot have both.

Funny thing is, whether or not we take choose to take God’s word for it, He still controls the outcomes.

So why don’t we just stop trying to control things and choose to enjoy the freedom that comes from knowing that you don’t have to worry about the outcome as long as you obey him completely?

Control freak vs Faith?

I choose faith all over again.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba.

6 Replies to “Control Or Faith?”

  1. Faith is the real deal!….controling the outcome of any matter isn’t ours to decide.so a control freak kinda person will often experience daily aches…and dissapointment.

  2. Awesome write up. I totally agree that we need to be 100% surrounded to God and not worry about not being in control of everything. For control freaks like us, learning to let go and trusting Him daily will be a life long goal and a daily surrender.

Leave a Reply

