tobilobaajayi

A topnotch WordPress.com site

IDOL WORSHIP


Welcome to December everyone.

Today I will be sharing a lesson I just internalized after three warnings. My sincere gratitude goes to everyone God used to open my eyes in the last day or so.

Let’s get into it.

Read with me: ‘And God spake all these words, saying, I am the Lord thy God, which have brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage. Thou shalt have no other gods before me. -Exodus 20:1-3

Before you conclude that this does not apply to you, stay with me a little longer.

I went to the dictionary for a quick check on definition of terms and the term ‘gods’ means, among other things, ‘an image of a deity, an idol.

I looked up the meaning of the word ‘Idol’ and this is what I found, among other things: ‘any person or thing, regarded with blind admiration,adoration or devotion.

Is the above definition beginning to bring pictures upon your mind yet?
Yes? No? Maybe?

Okay, let’s look at a few scenarios.

Who do you turn to first for validation of everything you do or don’t do?

Who do you turn to first, when crises hits?

What or who would you attend to before you attend to God’s word/presence?

What is that thing you would do even if it meant you would not have time to read your bible or even pray?

If you’re honest, we all have answers to these questions and others like it. Simply put, we are all dancing around idol worship in our lives.

Anything that takes the place of God in your life and heart is an idol. Don’t be deceived, you don’t need to have a graven image locked up in a special room and pour daily libations and make weekly sacrifices before you becoming an idol worshiper.

The minute your top priority stops being God,His word and His presence, check it.An idol is creeping in. And since these things are matters of the heart, you could look like you’re on track on the outside and be idol worshiping on the inside. We don’t usually do it deliberately.

I found that the things we usually idolize are the things we waited, prayed,fasted and did all the spiritual gymnastics to get. It could be a job, business, kids, spouse e.t.c. We idolize the gift and we forget the giver.

Our God is a Jealous God. He does not condone Idolatry in whatever manner or form.

I started today with some serious introspection and heart cleaning.

My unconscious Idol worshiping days are over. I’m am learning all over again to ‘ Guard my heart with all diligence’-Proverbs 4:23

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

