tobilobaajayi

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Performance Appraisal


I know I was supposed to spend this month discussing Genesis 26. I’m sorry I’m going to need to make a quick diversion.

Last week someone asked me to explain something that I thought was elementary and while I was at it I got sucker punched by a scripture that just would not leave me. I’m doing to share so I don’t think about it alone.

Read with me: At this, the administrators and the satraps tried to find grounds for charges against Daniel in his conduct of government affairs, but they were unable to do so. They could find no corruption in him, because he was trustworthy and neither corrupt nor negligent. –Daniel 6:4

I still can’t get over the use of the word ‘negligent’ in that passage. I get the ‘no corruption’ part-the guy didn’t cheat, steal or lie. That’s okay. I understand that.
The guy was never negligent? He was never careless, never lazy, never did a sub-standard job, never left anything undone?

He never thought, I can do it better but this effort is just okay, after all it’s not my father’s business?

I look over my life and I put myself in Daniel’s shoes. Would I pass the negligence test at work and in other places where I have been given responsibility?

Right now, maybe not.

Would you pass?

Remember, anyone then who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins-James 4:17

My work ethic is being challenged. It’s not just enough to shun corruption at work, I need to shun negligence.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

