Christian? Release Your Country


I was quoting a very familiar scripture in church yesterday and something really profound hit me.

Some of you might already realise this but pardon me while I share.

Read with me: ‘If my people who are called by my name shall humble themselves, pray, seek, crave and require of necessity My face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven, forgive their sin and heal their land-2 Chronicles 7:14

Before now,every time I read this scripture, I assumed that God was speaking to every citizen of Israel. But today I saw a few things that challenged my beliefs.

The first few words of this verse clearly specify the people to who God is speaking.

God is speaking not just to His people, but the ones called by His name. Today, that would mean you and I who call ourselves by the name of the Lord- Christians (The church).

Now that it is established that God is talking to Christians in that verse, let’s look at what He requires from each one of us:

Humility: To be clear, humility is not thinking less of yourself, it is thinking of yourself less. With that definition in mind, how many of us Christians today are truly humble people? How many times a month do you think about other people before yourself?

Prayer: Prayer is a dialogue between man and God. Using this definition, how many of us are really praying? Are our prayer times not strictly monologues of a to do list that we have for God with afterthought thank you’s thrown in?

Seek : To look for, Crave: To desire with intensity Require of Necessity God’s face- How many of us Christians today are interested in God’s face? Most of us couldn’t care less. We are only interested in what is in His hands that He can give to us.

Turn from wicked ways: Two words-Stop sinning. We’ve become so adjusted to the culture we live in as Christians that sin has become second nature to us. We even justify our sin by say Grace covers it or God understands. God does not understand your choice to sin after He has give you the ability not to. Sin is Sin.

When the Church(You and I who call ourselves Christians) do these, then God will forgive our sin and heal our land.
Summary of this epistle, The church today is what is holding the nation in bondage. If you want your country to be better than it is, Do your part! God does not need the whole country, He needs His people.
Christian, Release your Country.
I’m definitely checking my life to see if I’m contributing in any way to the wrongs going on in my country.
Who’s with me?
Tobiloba

Leave a Reply

