KNOWING GOD’S WILL


If you’ve been in church/Christendom for a while, you’ve probably heard that you should seek to do God’s will in every area of our lives.

If you’re like me, you’ve asked the question, ‘How do I know God’s will for my life?’ And I’m sure you’ve heard answers like ‘Pray and ask God’.

Any witnesses?

I don’t know about you, but for me, that answer just never does it for me but I’ve accepted it as the general consensus and I’ve  used it a few times.

Until this morning.

I was having a totally unrelated conversation with God this morning and He said to me, Let’s talk about Romans 12:2. (This conversation was long overdue. I had been putting it off)

So I started quoting ‘Do not be conformed to this world but be transformed by the renewing of your mind that you may be able to prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God. –Romans 12:2 (NKJV).

We went through this scripture in a few translations for the sake of clearer understanding and  a few things stand out clearly.

Contrary to popular teaching, prayer is NOT the way to know the will of God. Before you crucify me, read the above scripture  in as many translations as you can find and feel free to point out to me where you find prayer as a criteria for knowing the will of God.,

You cannot run your life by the standards of this world, think the way the world thinks and know the will of God no matter how many prayers you pray or how many tongues you speak or how born again you say you are.

You thoughts have to have lined up your life with the thoughts and life of God for you to know the will of God

Lining up your thoughts with the thoughts of God=Knowing the will of God.

The thoughts of God are found in His Word –The Bible.

Lining up your thoughts with the thoughts of God is a continuous process, not something you do once and it’s done,  hence the use of the word ‘renewing’ in the scripture above.

Get into the word consistently to line up your thoughts with God’s thoughts.

When your thoughts line up with the thoughts of God, you don’t pray to know the will of God, you just know it.

Where you start wondering about the will of God in a particular area of your life, check it!

Are your thoughts lined up with the word or the world?

Enough of the uncertainty.

I’m lining my thoughts up with the word of God

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

 

 

 

2 Replies to “KNOWING GOD’S WILL”

  1. Absolutely! Amazing piece….everyone must see this. When our life is constantly based on the Word, God’s will for our lives becomes clear to us and after bn lost in His will, we find it easy in obeying every word He says to us in walking in and fulfilling His will for our lives.

Leave a Reply

