tobilobaajayi

A topnotch WordPress.com site

IS LOVE ENOUGH?


I don’t know about you but over the years I’ve heard the phrase ‘love is not enough to keep a marriage’ – even from pastors, and I’ve honestly come to believe it.

Until last night.

I was in one of my very argumentative moods with the Holy Spirit and we were talking relationships and marriage-again, and in supporting one of my arguments, I said: ‘But God, Love is not enough to keep a marriage’.

And then as usual God stopped me cold in my tracks with His response: You mean I’m not enough to keep a marriage?

I stop cold. Then the Holy Spirit goes on and reminds me of a scripture I’ve known since I was a child:

Read with me: The person who refuses to love does not know the first thing about love because God is love- 1 John 4:8(MSG).

Of course the punch line was ‘God is love’.

The lesson continued: If you say love is not enough to keep a marriage, then you are saying I’m not enough to keep a marriage.

All other kinds of love- romantic love especially are needed, but not enough to keep a marriage. The kind of love I’ve given you and called you to give – the God kind of love is however all you need to make a marriage work.

Romantic love will not keep a marriage but the God kind of love will. End of lesson.

Question :(God ): Is Love enough to keep a marriage?

Answer: (me mumbling, after eating humble pie) : Yes

The God kind of love is all I need to make a marriage work because that kind of love is God Himself!

I need to renew my mind and cultivate the God kind of love!

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “IS LOVE ENOUGH?

  1. mojisola on said:

    I agree so much with the answer you got from the Holy spirit. Its only the God kinda love that can sustain a marriage. I repeat ONLY. No matter how sexy u think you wife look or how gorgeous you think your man looks, there will come a time you.won’t see those things anymore.

  2. We’re with you. Our humanly love isn’t enough. But God’s love…and grace, is enough

    • Yaaay! Naija Couple read my blog! Thanks for reading and taking time to comment. I love your blog too. Keep on keeping it real. You’ve got virtual mentees learning from you all the time.

      Come back to the virtual space soon. I’ll love to have your comments on other posts.

  3. I also use to believed that love is not enough to keep a marriage, people say “love+friendship” is what is needed. However seeing it from your perspective, it makes lots of sense now. God’s kind of love forgives, sacrifices/gives, is just/fair, appreciates and is full of humility.

  4. I’ve always been a believer in love – this stopped me cold though.

Leave a Reply

