A STRONG WEAKNESS


This week has been one of those weeks I have when I start getting down on myself for all the things I’m not, haven’t done and quite honestly cannot do (except a miracle happens).

My head was so full of it that I ended up having a conversation with God about it.

And as usual, The Holy Spirit drops ‘the word’. I call it ‘the word’ because He’s said this to me the dozens of times we’ve had this conversation. This time I read ‘The Word’ in the message translation and one word- Wow!

Read with me: Because of the extravagance of those revelations, and so I wouldn’t get a big head, I was given the gift of a handicap to keep me in constant touch with my limitations. Satan’s angel did his best to get me down; what he in fact did was push me to my knees. No danger then of walking around high and mighty! At first I didn’t think of it as a gift, and begged God to remove it. Three times I did that, and then he told me,

My grace is enough; it’s all you need.
My strength comes into its own in your weakness.-2 Corinthians 13:7-9

It’s a long read today but it sums it up. The weaknesses I have are a strong weakness because Christ works through them.  It’s in those weaknesses that He shines through the most.

I have enough Grace (supernatural enablement) to do all that I have been called to do. The weaknesses I have are strong weakness because Christ works in them and through them.

And most of the time, I can say with Paul that: Once I heard that, I was glad to let it happen. I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. It was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness. Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size—abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become.-2 Corinthians 13:10

My weaknesses (handicap) will probably never go away but that’s fine. They take on the strength that Christ gives and they become ‘strengths’ from which Christ gets al the glory.

What else can I ask for?

So if you’re like me and you have certain weakness that you bemoan from time to time, why not turn them over to Christ and let him turn them into strengths you can rejoice in?

I’ve turned over my weaknesses to Christ.

I’m rejoicing in my strong weakness.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

 

 

 

 

4 Replies to “A STRONG WEAKNESS”

Leave a Reply

