tobilobaajayi

A topnotch WordPress.com site

TRUST HIS CHARACTER


Last week I wrote about learning about God’s character in a post. (Read that post here: https://tobilobaajayi.wordpress.com/2013/10/12/his-ways-or-his-acts/) and sometime over the weekend I had a test.  During the course of the test, I learnt a lesson and I thought to share to encourage someone.

As I was saying, during the weekend, I had a test. I had been praying about something or should I say trying to pray about something and I couldn’t settle my mind enough to hear God even though I was quite certain that He was speaking.

There’s this discomfort that comes when your flesh and your spirit are in conflict.

Any witnesses in the house?

I was in the middle of that conflict during service on Sunday when I finally turned to God and said. Okay Lord, Speak. I’ll listen, I won’t argue and I won’t rationalize.(Amen).

Immediately a scripture dropped in my spirit. Read with me:

‘If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask Him!-Matthew 7:11’

And then the Holy Spirit continued, Tobiloba, trust my character. You know  I am a good God. I only do good things and I only know how to give good gifts to my children.

And then it hit me, I know God’s character but sometimes I don’t trust it-enough.

I immediately repented and since then, I’ve been basking in the knowledge that my God knows how to give me only good gifts.

And when the doubts hit as they always will, I repeat to myself,

‘My God is a good God and He gives good gifts to His Children’.

The doubts fly out the window.

This brings to mind something I read from my all- time favourite author-Max Lucado once about faith and trust in God. He said something to the effect that:

‘We know He can, we are not sure if He will.’

But I learnt something on Sunday. He can and He will.

I just need to trust His character more.

I’m enjoying the peace that comes from trusting my God’s character and I learn to trust Him more.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

  

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

