tobilobaajayi

A topnotch WordPress.com site

WHAT ARE YOU TEACHING?


 Sometimes I wonder why I have to see some certain things in the bible.  Those that came up with the statement ‘Ignorance is bliss’ knew what they were talking about.

About a week ago, I came across a scripture that has somehow stayed in my consciousness and in the light of some of the things I’ve read and heard in recent times I think it’s time to share.

Read with me: ‘These people worship me only with their words.
    They honor me by what they say, but their hearts are far away from me.
Their worship doesn’t mean anything to me.
    They teach nothing but human rules’- Isaiah 29:13

There’s so much to talk about in this verse but since I’ve done several posts on worship, the line that struck me was the last one-‘They teach nothing but human rules’.

As a teacher of the Word, this got me thinking. Have I been teaching the right things?  I’m still examining my heart.

 Before you think this does not apply to you because you are not a teacher in church, hold it there.

Everywhere you go, you teach. Everything you do teaches a lesson.

You don’t plan it, but trust me, it happens.

Every time you give someone advice, virtually or physically, written or spoken, you’re teaching someone something.

Someone is watching the way you live your life and forming their beliefs about how a Christian should behave.

Someone is hanging on to those words you say/type as Gospel. Are you sure it’s the true Gospel of Christ?

Does it line up completely with the written word of God-the bible? Or is it mixed with some human wisdom and church doctrine?

The thing I’ve realized is that most Christians do not deliberately set out to teach the wrong things-they genuinely believe they are right.

Check what you believe on issues before you speak/write. Make sure they line up with the word of God and you are not just saying what ‘a man/woman of God’ (who may be right or wrong) told you.

What are you teaching?

The Gospel according to God or the Gospel according to man?

I’m checking my beliefs before I teach.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “WHAT ARE YOU TEACHING?

  1. Yes! Yes!! Yes!!! Word! Word!! Word!!! Hehehehe. Seriously though. Very true. Sadly, many folks don’t want to listen. Oh well, let he/she who knows truth, teach it still and let God be glorified in it. Amen! Amen!! Amen!!!

Leave a Reply

