CHURCH SERVICE(S)?


I got to church a little early today and I had time on my hands before the ‘service’ started. All of a sudden, It hit me that every time I go to church, I say I’m going for service.

We all say that, don’t we?

Wait a minute and let’s consider the meaning of the word ‘service’. In simple terms it connotes doing something for someone. Rendering a ‘service ‘implies that in doing what you are doing, the satisfaction of the recipient is always of utmost importance.

When I was working in customer service, my boss had a mantra that translated to ’the customer must always leave this place happy. If the customer is unhappy, your job is far from done’.

We all had a laugh about it, but we knew he was right. As long as we are providing a service, the customer has to leave satisfied.

Why is it then that when we say we are going to service, we go expecting God to serve us instead of serving him?

Even those of us who say we are ‘workers’, which attitude do we have when we go to church to ‘work’ for God?

Is our aim to please God or to make our pastor and your church look good to attract the praise of men?

The aim of service is to please the one that is being served, not the one that is doing the serving.

Church services should have the sole aim of pleasing God and not to excite us.

The next time I’m in a church service, I need to focus on pleasing God and God only.

That is why it is called a ‘service’.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

 

Leave a Reply

