tobilobaajayi

A topnotch WordPress.com site

A ‘KNOCKING’ GOD


A post on one of my favourite facebook groups finally convinced me to write this post.

There’s this scripture I’ve known for a while but in the last few days it’s come back to me in a new way.

Read with me:  ‘Behold, I stand at the door and knock; if anyone hears and listens to and heeds My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and will eat with him, and he [will eat] with Me.-Revelations 3:20 (AMP)

In the last few days I have not been able to get over the fact even though God was addressing a church that could easily represent most of us today-lukewarm Christianity, He  still ‘knocks’ at the door of our hearts.

In essence, God is seeking your permission our permission to save us!

I can almost not wrap my mind around it. Christ died to save us and yet still asks our permission to dwell in our hearts?  He’s the one person that has the right to force salvation on us but He does not do it, He still makes it our choice and persuades us to make the right choice.

This got me thinking about how I present the gospel to unbelievers and backsliders?

Am I standing on a high horse looking down at them and making them feel like second class citizens and acting like final judge and jury over their destinies? Or am I preaching the truth in love, not forcing the gospel down my listeners’ throats and chocking them with it?

I think we should take our cue from our ‘knocking ‘God who despite the fact that He has the right to ram the gospel down our throats and force us into acceptance, does not do it but allows us to choose it.

Jesus died to give us a relationship with him and with God, not a religion. A religion can be forced but a relationship is chosen.

Preach the gospel as a relationship and not a religion and I dare say that our messages will have impact.

Are you preaching the message of a ‘knocking ‘God or the message of a ‘forceful ‘God?

Preach the right message. Preach the message of a ‘knocking’ God and watch Him knock on hearts and turn them to Him.

I’m preaching the message of the ‘knocking’ God today.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

