A GOD HOLE


When I was younger, I was fantastic at setting goals and drawing up blueprints for my life. I did not need a class in vision and goal setting to be able to do it.

I even set timelines for the achievement of the said goals and if I did not meet those timelines or goals I was very hard on myself.

For the most part, I accomplished most of the goals I had set for myself in their given time frames and then I got depressed.

Any witnesses?

Have you ever felt like there’s just this nagging feeling of dissatisfaction that stays with you no matter how many things you acquire and how much you do?

If you have, continue reading.

A lot of people around me then could not understand my depression and kept telling me I was ungrateful and that so many people would kill to have my life.  What they did not know was that I did not understand what was going on either.

God dragged me out of the pit of depression and taught me that all that mattered in life was Him and nothing more. I never knew how to scripturally explain that lesson.

Until today.

Read with me: …. ‘He also has planted eternity in men’s hearts and minds [a divinely implanted sense of a purpose working through the ages which nothing under the sun but God alone can satisfy],’…. Eccl 3:11

By the way, that feeling is never going to completely disappear  but it can be  a good thing.

The dissatisfaction I felt (and still feel sometimes) that led to the depression back then is what I like to refer to as a God hole. It was placed there by God to lead us back to him and away from things with little or no eternal value.

What are you doing with you God hole today?

Is it leading you to depression or leading you to the cross?

You get to choose.

I choose to let my God hole lead me to the cross.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

 

2 Replies to “A GOD HOLE”

  1. I can totally relate to this post! I guess it takes a conscious effort to ensure that our God-hole is filled with God alone and not vain things. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

