WHY WORKS?


Someone asked a question to this effect in a group I’m in yesterday. The person rightly quoted Ephesians 2:8-9 which reads ‘For it is by grace you have been saved through faith-and this not from yourselves, it is a gift of God-not by works so that no-one can boast.’

The person has however also read James 2:26 which reads  … faith without works is useless.

And the question went something to the effect of: If we are saved by faith, why do we need works?

I had ventured an answer to the question based on my previous knowledge of the Word but as usual the Holy Spirit would not let the question off my chest until we had discussed it.

In that discussion, I was reminded of a very popular scripture that I’ve always known which reads: ‘You are the light of the world….. Let your light so shine before men that they may see your good works and glorify your father that is in heaven- Matthew 5:14-16

I was also directed to another scripture which reads: ‘we are therefore Christ’s Ambassadors as though Christ was making His appeal through us-2 Corinthians 5:20.

And then, one final scripture from which I have already quoted a part ‘as the body without spirit is dead, so faith without works is dead-James 2:26

Why did I need so many scriptures you may ask? It’s interesting that the Holy spirit indulges my need for evidence when I’m confused.

Now this is how it all ties together: Our works is the outward manifestation of the faith we profess to have. Our works is not necessarily for God since he sees beyond them but they are necessary for men who see us-that’s the only way we can prove what we profess.

What’s more, when we do good works, God gets the glory-Matthew 5:16

Our works is a representation of our God-We are His ambassadors-2 Corinthians 5:20

Our works is the physical representation of our faith and gives life to our faith-James 2:26

Our works do not determine our salvation but they determine our rewards in heaven-2 Corinthians 5:10

It is abundantly clear that faith and works are not mutually exclusive of each other. They work hand in hand to make us into the Christians that we ought to be.

I need to show my faith more by my works!

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

2 Replies to “WHY WORKS?”

Leave a Reply

