ARE YOU GOD’S CHILD? ACT LIKE IT


A daily dose from my favourite author – Max Lucado inspired this post

Most of us as Christians are quick to assert the fact that we are children of God. We shout it to the roof tops to everyone that cares to listen.

But how many of us really act like the children of God we profess to be?

Before you write this of as one of those guilt ridden, holiness according to man preaching posts, give me the benefit of the doubt and read on.

If you say you are a child of God, why is it so difficult for you to trust God? If you have kids or you’ve ever raised one, you’ll understand what I’m about to say,

Children have an unwavering trust. If I tell my niece I’m going to give her popcorn after lunch, she instinctively believes me and goes on to tell my other nieces and nephews that she’s going to get popcorn after lunch.

When you tell a child something, the child believes without question.

She does not wonder how I’m going to get the money to buy the popcorn or if the popcorn shop will be closed by the time I get there. She trusts without question.

A child (under normal circumstances) is not afraid to ask for anything from a parental figure. They are certain they’ll get it so they ask.  And if you say no, they keep asking. God knows we can learn a lesson in persistence from kids.

How come we as ‘children’ of God seem to think we need to figure out how God is going to answer our prayers? Why can’t we just away in trust like my niece with the popcorn?

Why do we stop asking for something we want simply because we get a ‘no’ the first time we asked? Why can’t we be as persistent as a little child is?

Why have we suddenly become ‘adults’ of God instead of ‘children of God that we claim to be?

I am a child of God.

I need to act like it.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

