HOW DOES YOUR FAITH SHOW?


If you’re like me and you’ve been a Christian for any amount of time, you’ve probably heard so much about how you need to have faith.

We’ve been told so much about faith that most of us can quote scriptures about faith from memory.

There’s however been a scripture that people either choose to forget or interpret in any way they choose –and it just usually rubs me the wrong way.

The scripture reads: ‘Faith, if not accompanied by deeds is dead’-James 2:17

For those that conveniently choose to forget this verse, they preach the ‘we are saved by faith only gospel and say that we do not need ‘works’. For those on the other extreme, they pursue some funny things under the umbrella of’ works’ sometimes to the detriment of their faith  and quote the scripture above as backing.

I have therefore had this question, How do you show your faith through your works?

Any witnesses in the house?

Read on my dear friends.

And then recently, I saw something that completely revolutionized my thinking about the faith and works dilemma.

‘…..The only thing that counts is faith, expressing itself through love’- Galatians 5:6

The ‘works’ that should accompany my faith should be things that demonstrate love. No wonder the 1st Corinthians 13 love is an action word and not an emotion.

If my works fall short of the standard of love as encapsulated in 1st Corinthians 13, then I cannot put them under the works that are accompanying my faith.

Faith without works is useless

The kind of works that should accompany my faith are the things portrayed as the characteristics of love in scripture.

The word has revealed another area in my life that needs to change.

My works need to line up with the word.

Yours need to do the same.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba.

2 Replies to “HOW DOES YOUR FAITH SHOW?”

  1. Works line up with the word of God! Certainly! Laziness has choked we christians up deeply that we forget to dwell on His word to make things happen. WORD is very cogent, need it to get deliverance, to set free,to be save, to be feel with holy ghost power and to continually grow in His presence….all encompassed, then our faith can hold great ground. SHALOM!

Leave a Reply

