YOU CAN OVERCOME TEMPTATION


If you are a Christian, you will get tempted to sin.

 A lot of the time.

And your temptations will get tougher as your faith increases. The devil will bring sin your way so subtly, you will have to be careful to even identify it as sin.

It will be something you’re struggling with and you will want to justify going against God’s instructions. The urge to sin might even be so strong it looks like the only option you have.

Who can relate? I have been there. Too many times to count even in the last week,

What do you do when seemingly overwhelming temptations come your way?

A verse of Scripture has been my help in the last week. It reads:

The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure’.-1 Cor 10:13(NLT)

I learnt a few lessons from studying that verse and i thought it wise to share:

  • Others have been there. So cry out for help. Be accountable to someone through the tempting period.
  • If God allowed the temptation to come your way, it is because you can overcome it.
  • No matter how bleak it looks, there is always a way out
  • God will show you the way out.

While on the last lesson learnt, I realised something. God will show you the way out of temptation but you have to take it.

I have a role to play in overcoming temptation that goes beyond praying for God’s help. I have to take the escape route He shows me and that connotes taking action.

I should be able to say like Paul that ‘I discipline body, training it to do what it should-1 Cor 9:27

I need to do my part in overcoming temptation.

I need to take the way of escape God shows me.

You need to do the same.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

 

Leave a Reply

