tobilobaajayi

A topnotch WordPress.com site

ARE YOU BEING PRUNED?


I was in church yesterday and the speaker made reference to a very common scripture that has not let me rest since then. It reads:

…and He cleanses and repeatedly prunes every branch that continues to bear fruit, to make it bear more and richer and more excellent fruit.

You are cleansed and pruned already, because of the word which I have given you [the teachings I have discussed with you].-John 15:2-3 (AMP)

I just could not get over the fact that if we are bearing fruit as Christians that we would have to go through the rigours of dropping the things that are unnecessary and undesirable-that’s what pruning is.

Pruning is not interesting, It is painful hard work.

The funny part of it is that pruning is not a one time thing, it is a continuous process.

If pruning stops, fruit bearing stops and the tree eventually dies.

Our pruning instrument is the word of God-John 15:3

Therefore every time I study the word, it should have pruning effect on me. I should, as a result of the word drop things that are undesirable in my life from time to time.

If the word is not having this effect, I’m not being pruned and my fruit bearing will be limited.

If this continues, my fruit bearing will eventually stop thereby making me a dead tree.

The above applies to you too.

The word has to have visible effect in my life.

The word has to prune me.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

