HONEST PRAYERS


I just ran into a common scripture in the Message translation. It reads

Here’s what I want you to do: Find a quiet, secluded place so you won’t be tempted to role-play before God. Just be there as simply and honestly as you can manage. The focus will shift from you to God, and you will begin to sense his grace.-Matthew 6:6 (MSG)

In my life, I have prayed some really dishonest prayers.

Slow down before you crucify me, you probably have too.

If you’ve been a Christian for a while, you will understand in a bit. Have you ever prayed a prayer by rote or from memory without giving much thought to what you were saying?

Have you ever used words in prayer just because they sounded right even though they did not reflect the true thoughts and feelings of your heart?

If you have, you’ve prayed dishonest prayers.

For a very long time I was the queen of dishonest prayers. I had all the right words and inflections but my mouth was not saying anything close to what my heart was saying.

Then a while back, God literally asked me, why do you think I want you to pray?

That got me thinking.-God does not need me to be His information minister, He already knows what’s going on so there’s nothing you are  going to tell Him that He does not already know.

So why do we think we need to pretty it up for him and sound in a certain way when we pray? He already knows what’s going through your mind.

Why do we think we have to hide certain things from Him? Sorry pal, He knows all your dirty secrets that have been hiding in the closet all these years.

Prayer should be us playing our part in building a relationship with someone who loves us by constantly communicating with Him.

If communication is to be meaningful, it has to be honest.

As humans, when we find out that someone we love has been hiding things, It hurts.

How do you think God feels every time we come to Him dishonestly?

If you’re angry, tell Him.

Disappointed, Hurt, Scared, confused… Say it as it is.

Today, let’s stop the pretence, lets drop the ‘christianese’ and honestly tell God how we feel.

It will revolutionize our prayer life.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba.

4 Replies to “HONEST PRAYERS”

Leave a Reply

