tobilobaajayi

A topnotch WordPress.com site

JUST BE A WITNESS


I was wondering what to write about today and this part of a very popular scripture dropped into my mind:

….and you shall be my witnesses, in Judea, in Samaria and to the ends of the earth.-Acts 1:8

Christ calls us to simply be witnesses but unfortunately we’ve turned ourselves into defense attorneys trying to convince a judge or a jury of our peers.

Am I losing you a little with the legal analogies? Bear with me, I’ll find you in a second.

You see, in law, a witness has only one job- tell the court what you’ve seen, heard or experienced.

You can only be an effective witness if you have direct information about a case. In most cases third party information –things you were told is regarded in law as inadmissible hearsay.

The case here is Jesus. How much of direct information do you have about him? Or is all the information you have ‘inadmissible hearsay’?

It is not the job or business of the witness to make the judge or the jury believe him. All he has to do is state the facts as he knows them.

It is the job of the advocate that called the witness to use the witness’ statement(s) to convince the court.

As a Christian, You job ends at stating the fact as you know them. It is not your job to convince anyone of the authenticity or otherwise of the facts you’ve stated.

That’s the job of the Holy Spirit. He’s the one that is called ‘The Advocate’.

I’ve erroneously spent too much time trying to be both witness and advocate.

That’s why evangelism has been so hard.

That’s why I keep feeling like I’m failing.

I need to stick to my job description.

I need to just be a witness.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “JUST BE A WITNESS

  1. “As a Christian, your job ends at stating the fact as you know them. It is not your job to convince anyone of the authenticity or otherwise of the facts you’ve stated. That’s the job of the Holy Spirit. He’s the one that is called ‘The Advocate’.”

    Aptly put. Well done Tobiloba.

Leave a Reply

