ALLOW PEACE


I have always had an issue with worry. I used to make a joke that if they handed out degrees based on a person’s ability to worry, I would be on my way to getting a PHD by now if I didn’t have one.

Don’t get me wrong, I know and I’ve taught that worry is a sin- Philippians 4:6. When God told us not to worry, he was not joking, he meant it. Every time I consciously or unconsciously flout that instruction I commit a sin. 

I keep confessing and asking for forgiveness for this particular issue but I never fully repented from it.  This was one of the issues I alluded to in a previous post. (Read that post here: https://tobilobaajayi.wordpress.com/2013/06/01/dont-just-confess-repent/).

I was not repenting because I didn’t know how to do it. Trust me, I really wanted to repent but I did not know how to NOT worry. I know prayer works but some worry sessions were still seeping through the prayer cracks. Why?

Can anyone relate?  If you can, keep reading.

Here’s what I found recently:

Peace is the antithesis of worry. I cannot worry and have peace. Fortunately when Christ died he gave me His peace- His perfect peace-John 14:27

Then why was I not walking in the peace that became mine the day Jesus became my Lord and Saviour?

This is what I found in Colossians 3:15 (AMP) ‘And let the peace (soul harmony which comes) from Christ rule (act as umpire continually) in your hearts [deciding and settling with finality all questions that arise in your minds……’

To have peace, I had to allow peace. I have to choose to let the peace which Christ has given me be the default setting of my emotions and I should always choose to remain in this default setting.

Peace is already available, but I have to choose it.

Worry is a choice. I can choose to worry or NOT worry.

You can make that choice too

There are two choices; worry or peace. Each of them is knocking at the door of my mind and I can only allow one.

I choose to allow peace.

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

 

8 Replies to “ALLOW PEACE”

  1. This is easier said than done sis…. Unfortunately, i think i worry more than you do because mine has gone farther than being an habit. It has now become a part of me. I wish it was as easy to let go of as you’ve stated here!

  2. God bless you real good for this post.I can totally relate to it and it made me realise that ‎​I can experience God’s peace if I want it.I choose peace.God bless you.

  3. Although it is not as easy as said, not to worry.. but what i have realized over time is that worry does not have anything positive to add to one, neither does it solve any problem or challenge, rather it is a an unseen bondage dat shut ones eyes to the goodness God has done in the past, it paints our entire mind with uncertainties, and makes the word of God lies. It takes from us more dan it gives.
    worry is a very potent weapon in d hand of the devil. For every child of God, worry should be a taboo. IPeter 4:12. God did not promise us a challenge free life. we should always know dat these challenges will come, some we will overcome, some we bear till death. Why? its because for every child of God dis is not our home, we are in d world but not of the world. The earlier we accept dis the better for us. I am not trying to be so blunt but it is just what it is. Let just believe in God’s promises. Faithful is He who has promised…… let always count our blessings, be positive even when the situation is painting otherwise and develop your level of faith in Christ. Hebrews 11 will tell us much ……..

    shalom………. Bisola Akinsola

Leave a Reply

