PUT GRACE TO WORK


It has become a common phenomenon to hear Christians say correctly ‘I am under the dispensation of Grace’ and use that as licence to get away with anything. The most deceptive line I’ve heard and used is ‘I’m not Jesus so I CANNOT be perfect’.

I was preparing to teach a lesson today and I discovered contrary to popular belief, that grace does not reduce our responsibility for right living; it increases it.

Before you crucify me, follow me to Matthew 5[1]. Jesus the giver of grace himself tells us that under Grace:

Calling someone a fool could lead you to hell

Refusing to pursue peace means unacceptable offerings

Lust=Adultery

Swearing Oaths are forbidden

Remarriage after divorce is adultery

You have to love your enemy

Expunge revenge from your dictionary

Perfection is the goal.

This is an impossible list you may say. I know…I used to think like that to until i was reminded that:

Everything that goes into a life of pleasing God has been miraculously given to us by getting to know, personally and intimately, the One who invited us to God. The best invitation we ever received! [2]

When Jesus came and died, he not only gave me salvation, he also gave me his perfection and the ability to maintain it.

I can be perfect!

You can be perfect.

I just need to put the Grace that Jesus gives me to work by cultivating an intimate, personal knowledge of God.

Grace raises the standard but it also increases the capacity.

I need to put the grace of God in my life to work and stop being lazy.

I need to be able to say like Paul: I’m not going to let God’s grace go to waste.[3]

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

 


[1] Matthew 5:20-48

[2] 2 Peter 1:3

[3] I Corinthians 15:10(MSG)

10 Replies to “PUT GRACE TO WORK”

  1. Am with you on dis oo but just want to chip in dat d dispensation of grace started after d death of christ and since mt,mk,lk and jn are written when jesus was alive,they don’t include in d dispensation of grace

    1. Thanks so much for reading and commenting. The entire scripture was written after the death of Christ so I do think the synoptic gospels were the very first writings on the concept of Grace.

  2. Good talk there Tobi. When ever someone tells me something like “I’ll be there by His grace”,I say, His grace is there already, you just do your part…

  3. ROMANS 6 VS 1 – 2. WHAT SHALL WE SAY THEN? SHALL WE CONTINUE IN SIN, THAT GRACE MAY ABOUND? 2. GOD FORBID. “HOW SHALL WE, THAT ARE DEAD TO SIN, LIVE ANY LONGER THEREIN?
    WE ARE MEANT TO USE THE SUFFICIENT GRACE POSITIVELY, LIKE OVERCOMING TEMPTATIONS, PLEASING GOD, OBEYING IS WORDS, LIVING IN HIS WORDS, DESTROYING THE WORKS OF DARKNESS e.t.c & NOT THE OTHER WAY ROUND.

  4. Most of us christians think we can get away with things cos of grace. But d same bible also has ‘can we continue in sin dat grace may abound?…God forbid!!!!!!’

    God forbids that we take advantage of his grace

Leave a Reply

