tobilobaajayi

A topnotch WordPress.com site

GOD’S GOT YOUR BACK


In recent times, I looked at my account balance, thought about all the upcoming expenses and I was worried- so worried it was all I could think about. I thought about it till I was almost depressed.(I’m sure some of us can relate) and then the Holy Spirit said to me:

‘Hebrews 13:5’.

I flipped my bible over to the scripture wondering if my mind was playing tricks on me. This is what I found:

‘Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said,

“Never will I leave you;
    never will I forsake you.”[1]

I thought to myself, but ‘it’s not like I love money like that, at least God wants me to prosper’. And then it hit me:

The point where I began to worry about money, I contravened a direct command of God not to worry-Philippians 4:6, money had become more important to me than obeying God.

The minute I start to contemplate working when I should be in God’s presence

The minute I start to contemplate scrimping on my tithes and offering

I started loving money instead of loving God.

How? , you may ask.  You see, what you love, you think about. What you love you pursue. What you love you sacrifice for. The absence of what you love depresses you.

That last one hit home for me. Lack of money was depressing me. I was becoming in love with money.

The antidote is clear: Contentment! To borrow from Joyce Meyer: ‘Enjoy where you are on the way to where you are going.

Why? God’s got my back and he does not plan to leave me without help. He’ll do the same or you.

We just need to trust him.

The mirror of the Word has just exposed another area where I need help.

I need to learn true contentment.

Lord, teach me contentment in Jesus name.

Amen!

Who’s with me?

Tobiloba

 


[1] Hebrews 13:5 (NIV)

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “GOD’S GOT YOUR BACK

  1. Favour Bola on said:

    The Best Teacher in your mercy teach me true contentment because i am guilty of this, Lord pls forgive all the sins of love of money, grace me to love u and love your word to the entent of leaning on it forever. Amen

    tobilobaajayi: God bless you ma

  2. abined on said:

    So true and on point. Really blessed.

  3. On point ma’am…please don’t stop these articles..they bless lives..this is awesome, and timely too..GBU!

  4. This is a topic that is near to my heart… Best wishes! Exactly where are your contact details though?

Leave a Reply

