tobilobaajayi

A topnotch WordPress.com site

CONFESS YOUR SINS….TO ONE ANOTHER


I was in a prayer service one day and the prayer leader was urging us all to pray. While doing this he said, quoting from the bible ‘the effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much’.‘Pray my brethren pray’.

While the voices in the auditorium increased in volume, my mind was stuck on the bible quotation above. I got home and I looked it up. Maybe I shouldn’t have because since that day I have not gotten over what I discovered.

You see, I discovered that like it’s commonly done, only one half of that scripture was emphasised and this was usually done in prayer sessions. We tend to ignore the first part of the verse which reads;

Confess your sins to one another and pray for one another that you may be healed’.-James 5:16

I have to admit, we are good at the ‘praying for one another’ bit but we tend to selectively forget to ‘confess our sins to one another’.

I notice it does not say confess only to a priest or a pastor or an elder. It says ‘each other’ meaning your fellow brother or sister in the Lord.

Someone might say,once I confess my sins to God, I’m fine. I can’t argue that point with you. I did not write the bible.

Unfortunately that scripture puts everything together in one equation. Confession of sins to other believers + Prayer by same believers =Healing.

How sweet would it be if believers would all obey this instruction?

When someone admits an area of sin in their lives to you, it’s not time to judge them; it’s time to obey the scripture and pray for them.

But how many of us (I inclusive) would not judge them first?

I’m wondering aloud how many healings we’ve delayed or are still delaying because we are practicing selective obedience.

Hmm, this is serious!!! God I need your help.

Lord your church needs help!  Help us to obey you completely in this area even if it means starting with our small core groups and not just assume it’s impossible. Amen!

Tobiloba

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “CONFESS YOUR SINS….TO ONE ANOTHER

  1. This is the right blog for anyone who wants to find out about this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would wantHaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!

  2. Favour Adebola on said:

    God bless you for the insight, the issue is what you have discussed, I must be real with you, we find it difficult to even confess to our pastors, elders, priest not to talk of fellow brethren. The Lord will restore genuine & matured LOVE into His church. amen. In some cases brethren feel comfortable, secured to talk with some selected fellow brethren & find it difficult to talk with the Leaders(Pastors) which shouldn’t be, we are to imitate Christ and be His follower wiith that it can be easy to confess to one another without thinking otherwise. God bless you, God will release special grace on you, you shall fulfil your destiny & make heaven in Jesus name

Leave a Reply

