IS DIVORCE REALLY THE ANSWER?


I cannot believe you cheated on me! With someone I know too? That it, we’re done! I’m getting a divorce. I cannot stand the sight of your cheating face around me anymore. He/ She says storming out of the room.

A few minutes later he/she’s narrating the story in fury to a friend who says ‘you can’t get divorced remember? You’re a Christian. Well, the bible does say I can divorce an unfaithful husband/wife and it will not be a sin[1], so I’m taking that option. It’s better than living with someone who cheated on me.

But is divorce really the answer for unfaithfulness in Christian marriages? The bible tells us that the relationship between a man and his wife is likened to the relationship between Christ and the Church.[2]

We are the church of Christ-his bride. If Christ took the option of divorce every single time that we were unfaithful to Him, would any of us be able to stand? Check your life! In the last 24 hours, if you’re like me, I’m sure you can find more than one instance of unfaithfulness to Christ to point to. But does Christ turn his back (divorce) me every time I commit an indiscretion and break His heart, disrespect His body and scorn His sacrifice?

No! He forgives me and keeps forgiving me every time I acknowledge my sin and go to Him for help. What’s more, he helps me to truly repent of my sin by covering my sin with His Grace (undeserved favour).

Could we take a cue from Christ and bring an extension of the forgiveness and grace we have received from Christ into our marriages even in the face of infidelity?

Is divorce really the answer?

I don’t think it is!
 
Tobiloba


[1] Mark 10, Matthew 19

[2] Ephesians 5:21-33

10 Replies to “IS DIVORCE REALLY THE ANSWER?”

  1. Great post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector don’t realize this. You must continue your writing. I’m confident, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!|What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads. I’m hoping to give a contribution & assist different users like its helped me. Great job.

  2. I don’t know about other people but I decided long ago I wouldn’t divorce my wife. I hope God gives me the courage to stick by the decision I made since my secondary school days.
    That said, what people don’t realise is that it hurts God when we divorce. “God hates divorce”. And to follow up on that even the so called grounds for it, they do not follow strictly. On the grounds of fornication and not ‘adultery’. See the case of Joseph and Mary. Joseph had not yet consummated the marriage. But for the sake of argument, let’s say I’m wrong. What then? After a divorce, you are not to remarry until her death! Shocking? Too bad I’m currently not at home, I’d have given the Bible references.
    The case where a believer may be allowed to re-marry after divorce is on the instance of being with an unbelieving husband/wife departs (you are not to initiate the divorce – NOTE). Even then it is vague… You are not bound in that instance.

    Bottom line… if God hates it, I shouldn’t do it. That beats any argument anybody has about it.

  3. I like the fact that we need to forgive the act of infaithfulness in marriage. Particularly when the guilty person asks for forgiveness. So what about a situation in which such unfaithful person continues to in adultery or in a case where he/she is even unrepentant! I mean some so called christians are aware their partner are unhappy about their unfaithfulness but they continue! Some will even tell their spouse to go to hell! I have heard of people who indirectly asked Jesus to go to hell! They didn’t survive it in most cases! Divorce may just be a way out in some cases. Imagine contacting stds because of the unfaithfulness of a spouse who just refuses to change!!.

    1. I LOVE your comment! Thank you so much for asking the hard questions.This is my take on an unrepentant unfaithful partner:

      Separate. Don’t Divorce- Move out of that situation. There’s no point opening yourself up to diseases and the mental torture. While you’re separated,keep praying and standing in faith for your home. I’ve seen God change even the most unrepentant of sinners. All God needs is someone willing to stand in the gap.
      And because you’re genuinely praying for him, you’ll not be able to hate him while you’re waiting on God to move.

      In my opinion,no marriage is beyond redemption.

      I really hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

